On 12 August 2014, the Minister of Home Affairs, Mr Malusi Gigaba, MP, introduced the new Zimbabwean Special Dispensation Permit (“ZSP”).



The old Dispensation of Zimbabweans Project (“DZP”) will officially close on 31 December 2014. The expiry date of all “DZP” permits which expire before 31 December 2014 is delayed until 31 December 2014. The expiry date of “DZP” permits which expire after 31 December 2014 is being brought forward to 31 December 2014.

“DZP” permit-holders who wish to remain in South Africa after the expiry of their permits can reapply for the “ZSP”.



√ A valid Zimbabwean passport

√ Proof of employment/proof of business registration/proof of registration from a learning institution.



√  Applications opened on 1 October 2014, and will close on 31 December 2014.

√  Applications must be submitted online on

√  Applicants will be required to use their “DZP” reference number (e.g. DBN8157/2011/DZP) when lodging the “ZSP” application online.

√  Applicants are advised that there is no need to go to a police station to apply for a Police Clearance Certificate as that will be done electronically at the Visa Facilitation Services Centres (“VFS”) when they come for their interviews/appointments.

√  The turnaround time to process “ZSP” applications is eight (8) weeks from the date of the interview. The “ZSP” will allow permit-holders to live, work, conduct business, study and financially transact in South Africa for the duration of the permit. The “ZSP” will be issued valid until 31 December 2017.

√  After submitting the application online, applicants will be given an appointment date from 01 November 2014 to submit biometrics and supporting documents at the designated VFS Centres.



√  Durban: 91-123 Cowey Road, Essenwood

√  Cape Town: Entire Second Floor CCMA House - Darling Street

√  Port Elizabeth: Office 7C, 1st Floor Moffet on Main, Cnr 17th Ave and Main Road, Walmer

√  Johannesburg: The Link, Old Pretoria Road, Halfway House Midrand (Entrance Via James Crescent/Old Pretoria Road)

√  Rustenburg: Von Wielligh 26, Bo Dorp; Kimberly: Unit 3, Building 2, Agri Office Park, N12

√  Polokwane: 45 Nikkel Street, Industrial

√  Nelspruit: Office 5F, Nedbank building, 30 Brown street

√  George: Unit 5, Royal Eagle, 5 Progress Street

√  Bloemfontein: Suite 4, The Park, 14 Reid Street, Westdene



Zimbabwean nationals travelling on expired “DZP” permits will not be declared undesirable at ports of entry, or arrested for being illegal if they are found in South Africa for being in possession of expired “DZP” permits.


FOR ANY INFORMATION ON “ZSP” PLEASE CONTACT: Mr Gerson Muti on 060 960 3146, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.